Welcome, Sarah Shaw!


New SFDPH Family Planning Program Intern, Sarah ShawGo Folic! and the DPH Family Planning Program would like to welcome our newest intern, Sarah Shaw, who will be working on several qualitative evaluation projects that will help us to improve our family planning and preconception health services. While not working directly with Go Folic! Sarah’s work will complement that of this program, and so we intend to feature it on this blog from time to time.

Here is Sarah’s introduction, in her own words!

I am a recent graduate from UCLA, earning a B.S. in Anthropology and a minor in Society and Genetics. Go Bruins!  I hope to pursue a MPH beginning in fall of 2014 and to eventually do fieldwork in South Africa surrounding women’s health and HIV/AIDS. I am interested in applying and developing gender transformative intervention strategies and utilizing methods such as Boal’s Forum Theater to generate discussion surrounding cultural constructions of gender norms and how these influence health issues in both men and women.

During my gap year I will be working as an intern for the DPH Family Planning Program. I am excited to apply my background in qualitative data analysis and project evaluation to projects focusing on areas of women’s health and health education.  I will help design and implement a qualitative assessment of young women’s attitudes toward LARC, other hormonal contraceptives, and experiences with health care among various populations in San Francisco. I will also conduct focus groups as a means to evaluate the effectiveness of the new Adolescent Health Education Curriculum that is being launched in high schools within the San Francisco Unified School District this year. In addition, I will be involved in coordinating Title X Advisory Board and Materials Review Committee Meetings, updating the Pregnancy Referral Manual and researching public health strategies that target the health of women, children and adolescents in San Francisco which are currently in place.

On a more personal note, I am a very active person and sports have always been a major part of my life. I grew up playing competitive soccer and have recently gotten into rock climbing with my brother. My anthropology degree has fueled my interest in different cultures of the past and present and last year I was lucky enough to participate in an archaeological field excavation in Scotland. I have now officially caught the travel bug and hope to backpack throughout Europe and/or South America at some point in the future!

5 thoughts on “Welcome, Sarah Shaw!

  1. Sarah, I am so excited to welcome you to the Family Planning Program staff, and I hope that you get as much from your internship as I am certain that you will be able to give!

  2. Welcome Sarah! Excited to hear more about your work. As your friendly neighbor, feel free to stop by my office anytime🙂

  3. Sarah,

    Welcome to MCAH! Each of the activities you’ve planned for your year with us will contribute to our understanding and help us to improve the quality and effectiveness of our work.

    Mary

Leave a Reply

