HHS Secretary Sebelius on African American History Month


This month, Go Folic! celebrates African American History Month We thought we would begin by linking to the statement that Kathleen Sebelius, Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services released in honor of this observance.

Mary Eliza Mahoney (1845-1926)

Mary Eliza Mahoney (1845-1926) was the first black professional nurse in America, and an active organizer among African American nurses.

Secretary Sebelius began by honoring the contributions that African Americans have made to the field of medicine, “…including Dr. Charles Drew, whose work led to the life-saving ability to store blood plasma; Dr. Daniel Hale Williams, who performed the first successful heart surgery in 1893; and Mary Eliza Mahoney, the first African-American professionally trained nurse.”

Secretary Sebelius then went on write about HHS’ commitment to decrease health disparities and increase health access and equity through its HHS Action Plan to Reduce Racial and Ethnic Health Disparities.   She ended her letter by asking all Americans to join HHS in recognizing the achievements of African-Americans and to work towards an America where everyone has the chance to live a healthy life and contribute to their community.

Please click here to read the full statement.  And look forward this month to a series of posts celebrating African American contributions to this country’s culinary traditions and medical advances.

14 thoughts on “HHS Secretary Sebelius on African American History Month

  1. Hello! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this
    article to him. Fairly certain he will have a good
    read. Many thanks for sharing!

  2. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed reading it, you happen to be a great author.
    I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and may come back in the foreseeable future.

    I want to encourage one to continue your great
    work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  3. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if
    you knew of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.

    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some
    experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  4. Good day! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading
    your posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that
    deal with the same subjects? Thanks a lot!

  5. The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a
    forty foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My
    apple ipad is now destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to
    share it with someone!

  6. Fine way of describing, and fastidious paragraph to obtain information regarding
    my presentation topic, which i am going to present in institution of
    higher education.

Leave a Reply

