Healthy Woman Bio – An Interview with High-School Student Emma Pizzardi


Emma Pizzardi is one of eight Bay Area women featured on our Go Folic! educational materials.  These women represent beauty from the inside out and were chosen to participate in our Go Folic! photo shoot and interview.  We asked Emma what she thought about the importance of folic acid for young women, and this is what she had to say.

Where do you live?

San Francisco, CA

What is your age?

15 years old.

Where do you go to school?

I am a student at Lick-Wilmerding High School.

Why did you decide to participate in the Go Folic! photo shoot?

I participated because I have always wanted to have the experience of being in a photoshoot. Working with an organization as great as Go Folic! was the icing on the cake!

Why do you think folic acid is important for pregnant women?

I have never had children but my mother consistently took prenatal vitamins to supplement her diet while pregnant because she was concerned that her regular eating habits wouldn’t be enough to sustain a child.

How much did you know about folic acid before the photo shoot?

I knew that it was a vitamin, but it seemed like just another thing to find on the side of a cereal box and not really care about. I had no idea how important it was!

Did you learn anything new about folic acid during the shoot?

I learned that I need to be getting 400 mcg of folic acid every day, and that it aids in the production of millions of cells and keeps my body working.

Did what you learn influence your behavior in any way?

Definitely. As I continue to learn about the importance of nutritional eating habits, I constantly strive to be a better eater. Additionally, I’ve gotten better at taking my vitamins.

Do you take a multi-vitamin? Do you do anything special to remember to take it?

Yes, I take a multi-vitamin regularly. I set a special alarm on my phone every day reminding me to take it.

What is one thing you’d like to tell other women about this subject?

There’s no excuse for not being healthy. Aside from it being important to ensure your body is functioning properly, it will also make your hair, skin, and face look much healthier. It helps the body to deal with the production of cortisone, which is formed when the body has a response to stress. I think everyone could use a little stress reduction in their lives!

4 thoughts on “Healthy Woman Bio – An Interview with High-School Student Emma Pizzardi

  1. Thanks, Emma. I loved this interview. It was nice to learn a little about one of the women in the poster. Hope we get more!

Leave a Reply

